Gesta regum Anglorum (excerpt - De translationibus episcopatuum Wellens. Cestrens. et Thetford)
Account of how a new Lady Chapel came to be built at Thetford Priory
Letter of William of St Mary's 'Merlesham' describing the finding of a relic in the heel of a statue in Thetford Priory
Chronicle of memorable affairs from the incarnation to 1399
History of Thetford Priory
The provenance of CCCC MS 329 gives every appearance of being firmly established as originating from the Benedictine priory of Thetford (Norfolk). Written c. 1425-50, the manuscript contains a number of texts associating it with the priory of the Blessed Virgin Mary. These include a statement about the authorship of John Bramis (fl. fourteenth century) of the Historia regis Waldei, to the unique copy of the History of Thetford priory by Geoffrey of Rocherio OSB (d. 1301), both texts found in this volume. There is also an anonymous account of a miracle attending the repairs carried out on the buildings of the priory. Yet, as James observed, another anonymous Chronicle from the incarnation to the year 1399, that also appears in this manuscript, takes a close interest in the affairs of the nearby priory of Augustinian canons at Ixworth (Suffolk). Parker no doubt valued it for its account of church history from his home county of Norfolk, but how it came into his possession is not known.